COUNTRY & WESTERN - Johnny Cash HANK WILLIAMS Gibson Afisare la marime maxima


-set de 10 cd-uri


Disponibilitate: la comanda 1 - 4 saptamani

120,97 lei

30 alte produse din aceași categorie:


Artist: Douglas Bostock
Title: The British Symphonic Collection
Label: Classico
Genre: Orchestral Works
Release: 29. April 2011
Format: 10 CD-Walletbox

Hardly any other European country has been more important for symphonic
music than Great Britain – this boxed set features the genre‘s most important
representatives and includes works written by Elgar, Holst, Vaughan Williams,
Bax and Arnold, among others. The compilation also boasts a large number
of surprises, just waiting to be discovered – the different orchestras are
conducted by Douglas Bostock, one of the leading authorities on British
symphonic music.

CD 1

Sir Edward Elgar (1857-1936)

The Crown of India, op. 66
1. March
2. Hail, Immemorial Ind!
3. The Wind at Dawn
4. The Empire March

5. A Voice in the Desert, op. 77
6. Polonia, op. 76

Piano Concerto, op. 90
7. Slow Movement

The Spanish Lady, op. 89: Suite
8. Trumpet Call: Burlesco
9. Trumpet Call: March
10. Trumpet Call: Morning Minuet
11. Fitzdottrel
12. Fantastico
13. Trumpet Call: Sarabande
14. Trumpet Call: Bolero

15. Civic Fanfare (Hereford)

Mette Christina Østergaard (mezzo soprano)
Peter Hall (narrator)
Margaret Fingerhut (piano)
Münchner Symphoniker
Douglas Bostock (conductor)
Recorded in 2000

CD 2

Sir Frederic Cowen (1852-1935)
Symphony No. 6 in E major “The Idyllic”
1. I. Allegro vivace. Più mosso. Poco più risoluto. Poco più animato
2. II. Allegro scherzando. Poco tranquillo
3. III. Adagio, molto tranquillo
4. IV. Finale: Molto vivace

Samuel Coleridge-Taylor (1875-1912)
Symphony in A minor
5. I. Allegro appassionato
6. II. Lament: Laghetto affettuoso
7. III. Scherzo: Allegro ma non troppo
8. IV. Allegro maestoso ed energico

Aarhus Symphony Orchestra
Douglas Bostock (conductor)
Recorded in 2005

CD 3

Frederick Delius (1862-1934)

1. On the Mountains – Symphonic Poem

Seven Songs from the Norwegian
2. Twilight Fancies (Orch. Delius)
3. Young Venevil (Orch. Beecham)
4. Hidden Love (Orch. Payne)
5. Cradle Song (Orch. Beecham)
6. The Bird’s Story (Orch. Delius)
7. The Minstrel (Orch. Payne)
8. The Homeward Way (Orch. Sondheimer)

Paa Vidderne – Melodrama
9. I. Allegro con vigore
10. II. Andante tranquillo
11. III. Adagietto con voglia
12. IV. Grave
13. V. Lento, molto tranquillo
14. VI. Andante con voglia, molto tranquillo
15. VII. Allegro furioso
16. VIII. Comodo
17. IX. Lento con molto espressione

Jan Lund (tenor)
Peter Hall (narrator)
Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra
Douglas Bostock (conductor)
Recorded in 2000

CD 4

Arnold Bax (1883-1953)

Symphony No. 6
1. I. Moderato. Allegro con fuoco
2. II. Lento, molto espressivo
3. III. Introduction. Scherzo and Trio. Epilogue

4. Tintagel
5. Overture to “Adventure”

Münchner Symphoniker
Douglas Bostock (conductor)
Recorded in 1998

CD 5

Ralph Vaughan Williams (1872-1958)

Job – A Masque for Dancing
1. Scene I: Introduction
2. Saraband of the Sons of God
3. Scene II: Satan’s Dance of Triumph
4. Scene III: Minuet of the Sons of Job and Their Wives
5. Schene IV: Job’s Dream
6. Scene V: Dance of the Three Messengers
7. Scene VI: Dance of Job’s Comforters
8. Scene VII: Elihu’s Dance of Youth and Beauty
9. Pavane of the Sons of the Morning
10. Scene VIII: Galliard of the Sons of the Morning
11. Altar Dance
12. Scene IX: Epilogue

13. Prelude on an Old Carol Tune
14. Variations for Orchestra (Orch. Jacob)

Münchner Symphoniker
Douglas Bostock (conductor)
Recorded in 1998

CD 6

Gustav Holst (1874-1934)

Symphony in F major, op. 8 “The Cotswolds”
1. I. Allegro con brio
2. II. Elegy (In Memoriam William Morris): Molto adagio
3. III. Scherzo: Presto. Allegretto
4. IV. Finale: Allegro moderato

5. Walt Whitman Overture, op. 7

A Hampshire Suite, op. 28, No. 2
6. I. March : Allegro
7. II. Song Without Words: I’ll Love My Love (Andante)
8. III. Song of the Blacksmith: Moderato e maestoso
9. IV. Fantasia on the Dargason: Allegro moderato

The Perfect Fool – Ballet Music, op. 39
10. Andante
11. Dance of Spirits of Earth: Moderato
12. Dance of Spirits of Water: Allegretto
13. Dance of Spirits of Fire: Allegro moderato

14. Scherzo for Orchestra (from an Unfinished Symphony)

Münchner Symphoniker
Douglas Bostock (conductor)
Recording date unknown

CD 7

Alan Bush (1900-1995)

Symphony No. 1 in C major, op. 21
1. Prologue: Grave
2. I. Allegro molto
3. II. Lento molto. Largo*
4. III. Allegro moderato e deciso

Symphony No. 2 “The Nottingham”
5. I. Sherwood Forest: Moderato. Allegro vivace
6. II. Clifton Grove: Largo
7. III. Castle Rock: Allegro molto**
8. IV. Goose Fair: Allegro moderato

Royal Northern College of Music Symphony Orchestra
*Weimin Zheng (violin), *Ella Brinch (viola), *Clare Gallant (cello)
**Clare Gallant (cello), **Paul Vowles (clarinet)
Douglas Bostock (conductor)
Recorded in 2004

CD 8

Arthur Butterworth (*1923)
Symphony No. 1, op. 15
1. I. Allegro molto moderato
2. II. Lento molto
3. III. Allegretto con moto
4. IV. Vivacissimo e furioso

Ruth Gipps (1921-1999)
Symphony No. 2, op. 30
5. Moderato
6. Allegro moderato
7. Meno mosso
8. Andante
9. Maestoso
10. Tempo di marcia
11. Adagio
12. Allegro moderato
13. Tranquillo
14. Appassionato
15. Allegro

Münchner Symphoniker
Douglas Bostock (conductor)
Recorded in 1998

CD 9

Sir Malcolm Arnold (1921-2006)

Symphony No. 5, op. 74
1. I. Tempestuoso
2. II. Andante con moto
3. III. Con fuoco
4. IV. Risoluto

Divertimento No. 2, op. 75
5. I. Fanfare: Allegro
6. II. Nocturne: Lento
7. III. Chaconne: Allegro con spirito

8. Machines – Symphonic Study

Solitarie – Ballet
9. Sarabande: Andantino
10. Polka: Allegro non troppo

The Belles of St. Trinians – Comedy Suite (Exploits for Orchestra)
11. I. Prelude: Allegro
12. II. Train to Trinians: Allegro brillante
13. III. Flash and Miss Fritton: Andante moderato
14. IV. Races and Games (Tribal Warfare): Allegro
15. V. Finale: Allegro

Münchner Symphoniker
Douglas Bostock (conductor)
Recorded in 1998

CD 10

Edward Gregson (*1945)
Contrasts: A Concerto for Orchestra
1. I. Intrada: Majestically
2. II. Elegy: Slow and Thoughtful
3. III. Toccata: Fast and Rhythmic

Alun Hoddinott (1929-2008)
Concerto for Orchestra, op. 127
4. I. Vivo
5. II. Adagio
6. III. Presto

John McCabe (*1939)
Concerto for Orchestra
7. I. Deciso
8. II. Adagio
9. III. Scherzino: Allegro vivo
10. IV. Romanze: Andante
11. V. Intermezzo: Giocoso
12. VI. Largo
13. VII. Allegro deciso
14. VIII. Allegro marcato
15. IX. Pesante

Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra
Douglas Bostock (conductor)
Recorded in 1998

  • Suport: CD
  • Gen de muzica: Folk/Country
  • Set cd-uri: 10 CD

Scrieți-vă părerea



-set de 10 cd-uri

Scrieți-vă părerea